

HB-13.03

"Better SFC Pro Tempore, Executive Staff, Judicial Council Pay Bill"
(Bill to establish equitable pay for Judicial Councilors, the Executive Staff, and the Chair Pro Tempore of the Student Fee Committee,)

WHEREAS	The ASOSU Student Government comprises three branches, namely the
	executive, legislative, and judicial;

WHEREAS The Chair of the Judicial Council is granted an hourly wage for up to 10 hours per week, while the members of the Council are not compensated at all;

WHEREAS Members of the Judicial Council remain the only branch of student government uncompensated;

WHEREAS The current compensation plan was developed under strict budget constraints, which however is not an excuse to underpay or not compensate certain positions within the student government;

WHEREAS The Congressional Budgets Committee, as well as the Executive Leadership of ASOSU, have identified living wage, basic needs, and sustainability as the top three priorities which should be reflected in the administration of the current student government;

WHEREAS A partial increase in the allocated hours is proposed as a stopgap solution, while a more equitable compensation plan is developed and funded for the next fiscal year.

BE IT HEREBY ENACTED BY THE ASOSU THAT:

An allocation of projected unspent funds by the ASOSU during the 2022 Fiscal Year shall be authorized in such matter as to allow the ASOSU Statutes to be amended to read as follows, and to take effect at the time specified below (highlighted text indicates changes):

1. Title X, Section 2, Point C shall be amended to read as follows:



During Fall, Winter, and Spring terms, pay shall be granted to the Cabinet Officers for services rendered or duties performed as the Cabinet Officers of the Executive Branch at an hourly wage for up to 20 hours per week, at a rate of \$13.75 per hour, excepting winter and spring break.

- 2. Title X, Section 2, Point D shall be amended to read as follows:

 During Fall, Winter, and Spring terms, pay shall be granted to the Subcabinet Officers for services rendered or duties performed as the Subcabinet Officers of the Executive Branch at an hourly wage for up to 15 hours per week, at a rate of \$13.50 per hour, excepting winter and spring break.
- 3. A new point shall be added after Point F in Section 2, Title X to read as follows:
 G. The Chair Pro Tempore of the Student Fees Committee (SFC) shall be granted a Stipend for services rendered or duties performed as SFC Chair Pro Tempore for 28 hours a month (approximating 7 hours per week) at a rate of \$13.75 per hour for the full year, including summer term.
- 4. A new point shall be added after Point A in Section 4, Title X to read as follows:

 B. The members of the Judicial Council shall be granted an hourly wage for up to 10 hours per month for services rendered or duties performed as members of the Judicial Council at a rate of \$13.50 per hour, except during the Summer term
- 5. Section 8 of Title IV is stricken.
- 6. This Bill, subject to passage of SB-81.07, becomes operative and does not affect earnings until: i) after the ASOSU President receives written notice from the serving ASOSU Advisor that the revisions meet OSU's administrative process related to changes in pay and the aggregate amount needed to fund the changes in pay are within the ASOSU budget, or ii) or the first day of the next pay period following passage, whichever date is later.



BE IT HEREBY ORDERED BY THE ASOSU THAT UPON PASSAGE:

This bill be sent to:

Dhru Patel, ASOSU President
Dylan Perfect, ASOSU Vice President
Lucas Schnell, ASOSU Speaker of the House of Representatives
Sierra Young, ASOSU Student Government Committee Chair
Xander Robertson, ASOSU President Pro Tempore of the Senate
Joe Page, ASOSU Speaker Pro Tempore and Budgets Committee Chair
Muhammad Aatir Khan (MAK), ASOSU SFC Chair
Lauryn Ryan, ASOSU SFC Chair Pro Tempore
Julia Cleric, ASOSU Records Clerk
Leslie Schacht-Drey, ASOSU Faculty Advisor and Associate Dean of Students
Kevin Dougherty, Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Students

Authored (as introduced) by:

Muhammad Aatir Khan, Student Fee Committee Chair Lucas Schnell, ASOSU Speaker of the House of Representatives

Sponsored (as introduced) by:

Joe Page, ASOSU Speaker Pro Tempore and Budgets Committee Chair Reece Kikuchi, ASOSU Representative Matteo Paola, ASOSU Representative Duy Hoang, ASOSU Representative Luke Goldsworthy, ASOSU Representative

Confirmation of passage:

Lucas Schnell, ASOSU Speaker o	f the House of Representatives
Signature:	Date:
Dylan Perfect, ASOSU Vice Presi	dent and President of the Senate
Signature:	Date:



Approval or veto by the ASOSU President:

Dhrushil Patel, ASOSU President		
•		☐ Approved
Signature:	Date:	☐ Vetoed